Faculty & Staff




Dean Rehberger
Director, MATRIX
Interim Chair, Sociology
Associate Professor, History
Adjunct Curator, MSU Museum
rehberge@msu.edu

Ethan Watrall
Associate Director, MATRIX
Assistant Professor, Anthropology
Adjunct Curator, MSU Museum
Director, Cultural Heritage Informatics Initiative
watrall@msu.edu

Alicia Sheill
Assistant Director, MATRIX
Center Manager
Adjunct Curator, MSU Museum
asheill@msu.edu


Seila Gonzalez Estrecha
Director of Programming
seilage@msu.edu


Jeff Goeke-Smith
Systems Administrator
goekesmi@msu.edu

Catherine Foley
Director of Digital Library and Archive Projects
foleyc@msu.edu


Michael Marcellus Green
Director of the Digital Lab
greenmi8@msu.edu

Austin Truchan
Head Designer
truchan@msu.edu

Anthony D Onofrio
Lead KORA Developer
anthon70@msu.edu

Jackie Belden Hawthorne
Director of Photography
hawtho26@msu.edu

Kayla VanDyke
Office Manager
Grant Post-Award
kvdk@msu.edu

Joshua Christ
Web Developer
christj2@msu.edu

Matthew Schleusener
Web Developer
cschleus1@msu.edu

Affiliated Scholars

Peter Alegi
Director of Digital History Projects
Professor, MSU History Department
alegi@msu.edu

Peter Berg
PI, What America Ate
Associate Director, MSU Libraries
berg@mail.lib.msu.edu

Steve M Cohen
Research Professor
stevemc@rcn.com

Kurt Dewhurst
Director of Museum Projects
dewhurs1@msu.edu

Beth Donaldson
Research Associate
donald20@msu.edu

Jon Frey
Associate Professor, MSU Art, Art History, and Design
freyjona@msu.edu

Jason Friedman
Research Associate
jason.friedman@wasatchacademy.org

Alex Galarza
CLIR Postdoctoral Fellow in Dara Curation for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Haverford College
galarza1@msu.edu

Jeff Grabill
Associate Provost for Teaching, Learning and Technology at MSU
WIDE Senior Researcher
grabill@msu.edu

Bill Hart-Davidson
WIDE Senior Researcher
Associate Professor, Associate Dean of Graduate Education, College of Arts and Letters
hartdav2@msu.edu

Walter Hawthorne
Chair, MSU History Department
walterh@msu.edu

Candace Keller
Director of Digital Art History Projects
Associate Professor, MSU Art, Art History, and Design
kellercm@msu.edu

Brandon Locke
Director of the Lab for the Education and Advancement in Digital Research (LEADR)
blocke@msu.edu

Christopher Long
Dean, MSU College of Arts and Letters
Public Philosophy Journal
cplong@msu.edu

Marsha MacDowell
Director, Quilt Index
macdowel@msu.edu

Deborah Mack
Associate Director for Strategic Partnerships at the National African American Museum of History and Culture, Smithsonian Institution

Ibra Sene
Associate Professor, History, The College of Wooster
isene@wooster.edu

Mark Sullivan
Director of Digital Arts Projects
sullivan@msu.edu

Rebecca Tegtmeyer
Director of Visual Interaction Design Projects
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design in the MSU Department of Art, Art History, and Design
tegtmey2@msu.edu

Ibrahima Thiaw
Director of Anthropology at Institut Fondamental d’Afrique Noire/University Cheikh Anta Diop of Dakar, Senegal
ibrahima.thiaw@ucad.edu.sn

Helen Zoe Veit
PI, What America Ate
Associate Professor, MSU History
hveit@msu.edu

Student Employees

Samuel Batali, Programmer, dariokwo@msu.edu
Caitrin Campbell, Clerical Assistant, campb863@msu.edu
Noah Girard, Programmer, girardno@msu.edu
Amanuel Goshu, Digital Lab, goshuama@msu.edu
Dane Holmberg, Programmer, holmbe13@msu.edu
Michaela Kaliniak, Clerical Assistant, kalinia1@msu.edu
Gabriel Martino, Programmer, mart1683@msu.edu
Ian McGregor, Programmer, mcgreg45@msu.edu
Cody Mejeur, Graduate Research Associate, mejeurco@msu.edu
Nicholas Mikelsavage, Programmer, mikelsav@msu.edu
Ndah Joseph Mpo Yeti, Programmer, mpoyetin@msu.edu
Justin Newman, Programmer, newmanju@msu.edu
Bogdan Pozderca, Programmer, pozderca@msu.edu
Francisco Santos, Programmer, santosf@msu.edu
Rohit Sen, Programmer, senrohit@msu.edu
Anna Sherry, Clerical Assistant, sherrya2@msu.edu
Veditha Shetty, Systems Administrator Assistant, shettyv1@msu.edu
Duncan Tarr, Research Associate, tarrdunc@msu.edu
Cassidy Taylor, Student Designer, tay1109@msu.edu
Kingston Tran, Programmer, tranking@msu.edu

Previous Employees

Clerical
Katie Demery, Katie Greene, Kassie Powell, Caitlyn Przybysz, Kaitlyn Szczypka, Alana Zaskowski
Design
Dan Jaquint (Head Designer), Alexis Reininger
Digital Lab
Patrick Conway, Annette Gianino, Justin Leggs, Allan McDaniel, Maria Palmo, Scott Pennington (Director)
Programming
Mohammed Al-Qizwini, Connor Avery, Jacob Buckley, Sam Carne, Chelsea Carr, Matthew Chebowski, Megan Chorazyczewski, Kaitlin Davis, Tyler Erskine, Danielle Guir, Cameron Holmes, Wei Jiang, Zachary Jones, Anthea Josias, Kyle Kotalek, Ramata Koumare, Jake Lange, Nicole Lawerence, Nathan Leaman, Shen Li, Yue Lu, Austin McGee, Morgan Musyskens, Michael Nelson, Jacob Newsted, Ryan Omizo, Zachary Pepin,Annalise Pucel, Ruchira Ramani, Lucas Reynolds, Austin Rix, Wyatt Roehler, Dan Roman, Hannah Sailar, Domas Siaudvytis, Sana Siddique, Aasiruddin Walajahi, Ian Whalen, Alex Williams, Peng Xie, Hansheng Zhao
Research Associates
Shelby Dosser (Undergraduate), Evan Lee (Graduate), Kathryn Meyers (Graduate), Liza Potts, Justine Richardson, Emily Riley (Graduate), Chris Valvano (Graduate), Lisa Williams (Graduate), Rebecca Zantjer (Undergraduate)
Systems
Joseph Deming